New Conversations

New Conversations

The second round of New Conversations is now open. Deadline 31 May.

New Conversations is a programme funded and delivered by the British Council,  Farnham Maltings, and the High Commission of Canada in the UK . The fund is designed to encourage and support the development of creative exchange, collaboration and partnerships between artists and arts organisations in the performing arts sector in the UK and Canada. Initially a two-year pilot, the first round saw £62,300 invested in nine new creative partnerships.

 New Conversations aims to provide opportunities to initiate challenging and inquisitive conversations, exchange ideas and practices, and develop ambitious creative research and development projects that offer the first steps towards artistic collaborations and productions between Canada and the UK.

The fund is open to theatre and dance organisations in the UK and Canada. Artists and artist-led collectives can apply in partnership with an organisation and we welcome cross-art form collaborations (please refer to eligibility requirements and FAQs below for more details).

New Conversations will fund up to 5,000 GBP/ $8,700 CAD towards collaborative and sustainable creative projects that can deliver long-term benefits for the performing arts sectors in both countries. The aims of the fund are:

  • To increase cultural exchange opportunities between UK and Canada, allowing for more artist mobility and international opportunities
  • To share best practices and networks through exchange, to increase skills, develop ideas and new artistic vocabulary between professional artists and organisations
  • To support visibility and representation of voices and a diversity of dialogues in the performing arts sector
  • To support research, development, and seed support for future collaborations and productions

 To apply

Please complete the Application Form and upload it to the New Conversations Application Portal  no later than May 31, 2019 at 23:59 GMT or 17:59 EST. Applications submitted after the deadline will not be considered. The application can be downloaded below.

We will be hosting a Q&A webinar on May 2 at 9:30am Vancouver/12:30pm Toronto/ 5:30pm UK, please register and join here: http://bit.ly/2CTKfFc A recorded version of the webinar will be available shortly afterwards.

Downloads

Frequently Asked Questions: in English / en Français

Criteria and Terms: in English / en Français

Application Form: in Englishen Français

Press Release – Round 2: in Englishen Français

Press Release – Round 1 successful applicants: in English / en Français.